top of page

REVIEW | CAFÉ LOETJE, AMSTERDAM, HOLLAD (NETHERLANDS)


During our short and sweet stay, we decided to have lunch at Café-Restaurant Loetje whilst strolling around the busy city of Amsterdam in January. The restaurant is connected to the IAmsterdam Visitors Centre which is opposite Amsterdam Central Station and is also split into a pub. Great for day time eating or evening drinks ;)


Café-Restaurant Loetje – a café/restaurant serving the most delicious hot meals and beverages, also serves cold food, such as sandwiches and cakes, but what caught my eye was actually the savoury pancakes. If anyone knows me, they know that I LOVE a good pancake – be it sweet, savoury, thick or thin. Pancakes are my thing :)


I had a savoury pancake with ham and cheese and as basic as it sounds, the taste was out of this world.



It was more of a crepe than a pancake to be honest but I'm not complaining. Words can't even describe how satisfying this meal was! At first, I thought I should probably order a side with it, simply because it didn't sound like it would be enough, but my gosh! It was massive! And it was delicious! Very crispy, thin and full of flavour. The value for money was pretty good too, off the top of my head I think it was only about €6.


Seeing as we had the perfect weather for it that day (cold, rain and more cold), I also ordered a hot chocolate with cream – that was awesome too. Hot chocolate is also 'my thing' and I must say, I HATE (with a passion) having a hot chocolate from a café or restaurant and finding all of the chocolate at the bottom of the cup! This hot chocolate was not like that at all. It was light, smooth and milky – just how hot chocolate should be. I was also given a little bar of Koetjes Reep chocolate which was so good! Quite upset that we don't have these back home in England..



The restaurant itself was pretty cosy and backs on to the 17th Century Canal Ring where we later went for a cruise and to watch the 2015 Amsterdam Lights Festival (which you can read about here).


I would rate Café-Restaurant Loetje the following:


Taste – 10/10

Presentation 8/10

Customer Service 9/10

Price 9/10

Overall – 9/10


Deffo one to visit the next time you are having a little stroll around 'Dam!4

 

What are your favourite restaurants in Amsterdam? Maybe I can visit the next time I'm feeling peckish in Dam ;)


ARCHIVE:
FEATURED POSTS:
bottom of page