top of page

Postcards from Artis Royal Zoo, Amsterdam


In all of my 25 years, I have never been so easily amused, scared, intruiged and fascinated by the zoo!


Many of you may know that I'm not much of an animal lover (soz guys!), actually, I'm scared of pretty much anything with a pulse, lol! I found a little comfort in knowing that the animals in the zoo couldn't attack, bite or scratch me, which is one of the reasons why I surprised my sister, Louise with a trip to Artis Royal Zoo - one of many surprises for her on our little get away! However, we soon came to realise that these were quite lierally WILD animals, with not much protection between us and them..


Still, that didn't stop us from having a good old time as usual! So, on with the postcards!

 

First up, black jaguars! As you can see, there was a great deal of distance between us and the jaguars (thank God)! Wishing I bought my other lens with me for some better shots! :(



 


Next, hyenas and boy did they look different to the ones in The Lion King! From a distance actually, they looked like a cross between pigs & large dogs ... a strange mix!





 

Ahh, the elephants, such beautiful beasts. These photos were taken quite literally before this elephant snapped a tree in half with her bottom like it was a twig! I need to get me some of that glute power!! :P





 

Here are two weird & (not so) wonderful reptiles...


Oh, and here's me and Lou sweating our booties off in the reptile house, clearly rockin' that 'unconfortably moist' look... The temperature was so high in the reptile house that our glasses steamed up and so did my camera lense. After several wipes with my then-warm scarf, it was apparent that we should make our way back outside! More clips of the repliles in the video at the bottom of thi post!


 

A few random mammals.




 

Just casually checking out my wing span. Still a little more growing to do, apparently.





 

Meet the rodents! Two words... THE SMELL!!! Blegh.






 

We found Alex the lion & Melman!




 

The Fennex fox. Not one of them opened their eyes for my pictures! :(



 

And tha's that guys! Sorry about the distance of some of the shots, my longer lens didn't quite make it with me to Amsterdam! Check out the video below for more strange animals from the zoo and don't forget to subscribe!!

xx


 


Comments


ARCHIVE:
FEATURED POSTS:
bottom of page